Your Government

Welcome to St. Johns County – Florida at first sight!

Established in 1821, St. Johns County is home to more than a quarter-million residents served by two municipalities and the County Government. The County’s rich history and idyllic beaches make for the perfect tourist destination.

Recent studies place St. Johns County as one of the fastest-growing counties in Florida, including job and income growth.

St. Johns County serves two incorporated cities, St. Augustine and St. Augustine Beach, along with unincorporated communities, including Ponte Vedra, Hastings, Switzerland, Crescent Beach, Tocoi, Bakersville, Picolatta, Orangedale, Fruit Cove, Summer Haven, and Vilano Beach.


St. Johns County is governed by five elected Commissioners, each representing one of the five County districts, and serve four-year terms. 

St. Johns County registered voters elect the Board members and five Constitutional Officers

The County employs a workforce of more than 1,300. The Board of County Commissioners appoints the County Administrator and the County Attorney. The County Administrator directs day-to-day government operations. The County Attorney is the Board’s legal counsel and represents the County in litigation.

The County Administrator oversees the County’s administrative departments.